Track Safe Logo


To Recognise Excellence in Conserving and Restoring Railway and Tramway Vehicles and Infrastructure

To foster high standards in conservation and restoration of New Zealands rail heritage, FRONZ gives annual awards to recognise the best work completed in the previous year. These are awarded at the Annual Conference at Queens Birthday Weekend (weekend of the first Monday in June).

Awards currently presented at Conference are:-

Award Prize Awarded By 2016 Recipient
Shantytown Steam School - Steam Locomotive Restoration Award $2,000 & Trophy courtsey of Tai Poutini Polytechnic & Shantytown FRONZ

Mainline Steam Heritage Trust for Ja 1240 'Jessica'

KiwiRail Infrastructure Improvement Award $2,000 & Trophy courtesy of KiwiRail FRONZ Western Springs Railway - MOTAT for relaying and improving their mainline and yard areas.
Tramway Restoration Award Certificate FRONZ

Wellington Tramway Museum for restoring 'Fiducia' type tram 260.

Carriage / Guards Van Restoration Award $500  & Trophy, courtesy of Dunedin Railways FRONZ

Mainline Steam Heritage Trust for restoring AO48.

Z-Minitankers Award for improvements to diesel/petrol engined rail vehicles. Plaque, and $500 of Z vouchers. FRONZ Mainline Steam Heritage Trust for Price shunter No. 213.
Goods / Service Wagons Restoration Award Certificate FRONZ

Silverstream Railway for restoration of high-sided wagon La 18921.

AON Young Achiever Award Up to $1,000 towards the costs of attending next years Conference, courtesy of Aon Risk Ltd FRONZ Elliot Baptist of the Bush Tramway Club.
Rail Heritage Trust Restoration Award Certificate & Plaque Rail Heritage Trust

Ormondville Rail Preservation Group for restoration of their goods shed.

P S Heighton Award For Excellence Certificate & Trophy P S Heighton John St Jullian for picking up the reins with the Mechanical Sector of the Glenbrook Vintage Railway.
NZTA Tourist & Heritage Rail Safety Award $1000, Certificate and Plaque NZTA  Goldfields Railway for their proactive approach to improve level crossing awareness in their community.

2017 Award Application Form & Criteria Information - Click Here

2017 NZTA Tourist & Heritage Rail Safety Award - Click Here